Location: Qua Giang Communal House
is located in Qua Giang Hamlet, Hoa Phuoc Ward, Hoa Vang
District, Da Nang City.
Characteristic: The house is divided into two parts:
forecourt and sanctum. They are connected by two
corridors with sunscreens which makes a self-contained
Built in the year of Tan Ty (1821), it worships Quan
Thanh and forefathers of four clans Dinh, Le, Tran, and
Nguyen who followed King Nguyen to go southwards in
order to widen territory and establish Qua Giang Village
consisting of Qua Giang, Giang Nam, Tra Kiem, An Luu,
and Con Mong.
The forecourt is erected on “Chong ruong - Gia thu”
structure. Pillars are designed with ornamental pumpkins
at their feet, and decorated with lotus on their body.
Two rows of 5m high pillars, two pillars of each row,
support the beam; and two rows of smaller posts support
two secondary roofs. On rafters carved trees, flowers,
animals, eight weapons, and different ornamental lines.
There is a design of a carp changing to a dragon on
every rafter’s end.
The sanctum is divided into three sections with four
lean-tos. Four 5m high pillars, eight 3m high secondary
posts, and 16 small poles support rafters. The sanctum
has a pantile roof, a well-matched couple of the Phoenix
and Rheinart’s pheasant, two dragons looking back at
each other. The four supernatural creatures are
decorated on the sanctum’s front roof.
Local people organize ceremonies on the 22nd day of the
second lunar month and the 12th day of the seventh lunar
month to memorize their ancestors. Qua Giang Communal
House was recognized as a national relic by Ministry of
Culture and Information on the 1st February 2000.
Source: Vietnam Nation Administration of Tourism