Location: Long Thu Pagoda Stele is
located in Long Thu Pagoda (now called An Long Pagoda),
behind Cham Museum in Binh Hien Ward, Hai Chau District
of Da Nang.
Characteristics: Long Thu Pagoda Stele is the oldest one
in the territory and plays an important role in local
The stele was set up on period of Le Thanh Tong’s reign
(1658), and was written by Le Gia Phuoc (religious name
of Phap Giam) born in Hai Chau District. Reasons for
building, name of pagoda, names of people contributing
into setting up the pagoda are readable on the stele.
According to the stele’s content, Buddha in appearance
of a dragon’s head usually helped miserable people so
Buddhist followers come here for praying. Tran Huu Le
offered a garden on which a pagoda was built for
worshipping the Buddha. Other followers contributed
financially to the pagoda construction, bell casting,
and statue sculpture in 1653. It is said that there were
two big bells and many beautiful statues, but they were
stolen. The pagoda was destroyed in Tay Son – Nguyen
Anh’s period. The stele was covered by earth, and in
1903 it was found out and laid next to the gate. In
1961, the pagoda was rebuilt in the same architecture as
current ones of the south. Only the ancient three-door
temple gate is outstanding.
Made of grey sandstone, the stele was 1.25m high, 1.20m
wide, 0.21m thick in shape of round-top trapezium. It is
sculpted in both sides. On the front is a Chinese poet
surrounded by floral designs, on the top carved a sun,
clouds, flowers, and two lions. The poet has 368 words,
6 big ones are put horizontally: “Lap Thach Bi Thu Long
Tu”. On the other side are floral designs.
Long Thu pagoda stele was recognized as a historic relic
by the decree approved by the Indochina government on
16th May 1925 and a national historic relic by Ministry
of Culture and Information on 2nd December 1992.
Source: Vietnam Nation Administration of Tourism